Dadipark, opened in 1950, must be fairly unique in the abandoned amusement park realm because it operated under the control of priest Gaston Deweer. Located in the centre of Dadizele, an important tourist destination and place of pilgrimage in Belgium, Dadipark evolved from children’s playground to modern amusement park.
The founders sought to provide an accessible and affordable park, skirted by the longest wooden suspension bridge in Europe. But safety concerns following a string of accidents reached a horrifying climax when a boy reportedly lost his arm while riding the once-popular “Nautic Jet”. In 2002, Dadipark was forced to close for renovation, but never reopened.
The park and its rides now lie silent and seemingly forgotten, completely overgrown as attempts to breathe new life into the ailing attraction have stalled. As of 2010, Dadipark seems increasingly unlikely to reopen, now little more than a collection of rusty rides amid ever encroaching greenery. Check out more fantastic photos at Forgotten Beauty.